Saturday, June 5, 2010

A Belmont Breeze salute to the longshots who've won the Belmont Stakes

Let's hope today's Belmont Stakes (otherwise known as "The Test of Champions") winner joins the ranks of the longshot winners below. If the Thoroughbred Racing Gods allow it and it's meant to be it will happen - if not, it won't...

Sarava: 70-1 (2002)

Da'Tara:38-1 (2008)

Birdstone: 36-1 (2004)

Lemon Drop Kid: 29-1 (1999)

Other Notable Longshot Winners - Sherlock: 65-1 (1961); Temperance: 53-1 (1980)

By the by, I got every one of these longshots except Sherlock (I was not betting the Throughbreds in 1961)

No comments:

Post a Comment